English copy-editing services

At Copernicus, we understand your desire to publish the most polished article possible. Even after dozens of readings, the eye can overlook minute mistakes such as forgotten or misplaced punctuation, incongruent conjugation, or the occasional misspelling. Sometimes, however, manuscripts contain crucial errors that can affect the reader’s comprehension of the text or compromise its reception from the scientific community.

That’s why Copernicus offers copy-editing as a standard service for most of its journals, and as an optional service upon request. Our team of dedicated copy editors brings a variety of skill sets and a spectrum of backgrounds to the table, applying a proficient balance of linguistic and scientific know-how to every manuscript they read. Their goals are to ensure your work adheres to scientific writing standards, grammatical accuracy, and overall readability. The latter encompasses aspects such as rephrasing awkward expressions and sentence structures or adjusting incorrect collocations. This can lend a more natural flow to your article and thus provide a more significant reading experience for your audience.

Based on the Copernicus concept of "copy-editing lite", we respect the fact that any changes made to your work is a delicate matter, which is why all revisions come back to you for confirmation; you might also choose to contact your copy editor during this process if you have questions. The important thing to remember is publication takes place only when you are satisfied with the text.

Key aspects to keep in mind show

Copy-Editing team 

copy-editing@copernicus.org | Phone +49 551 90 03 39 80+49 551 90 03 39 80
Meredith Gunnells

Meredith Gunnells

Focus: Linguistics, Biology, Natural Hazards
Profile


meredith.gunnells@copernicus.org
Phone +49 551 90 03 39 80+49 551 90 03 39 80
Carl Becker

Carl Becker

Focus: Linguistics, Literature, Mathematical Logic
Profile


carl.becker@copernicus.org
Phone +49 551 90 03 39 89+49 551 90 03 39 89
Farrel Burns

Farrel Burns

Focus: Linguistics, Climatology, Geography
Profile


farrel.burns@copernicus.org
Phone +49 551 90 03 39 87+49 551 90 03 39 87
Kevin Callon

Kevin Callon

Focus: Linguistics, Climatology, Geography
Profile


kevin.callon@copernicus.org
Phone +49 551 90 03 39 86+49 551 90 03 39 86

Manisha Gandhi

Focus: Linguistics and Hydrology
Profile


manisha.gandhi@copernicus.org
Phone +49 551 90 03 39 85

Cillian Hanaphy

Focus: Linguistics, Climatology
Profile


cillian.hanaphy@copernicus.org
Phone +49 551 90 03 39 91+49 551 90 03 39 91
Dr. Helen Imhoff

Dr. Helen Imhoff

Focus: Linguistics, History, Glaciology
Profile


helen.imhoff@copernicus.org
Phone +49 551 90 03 39 88+49 551 90 03 39 88

Aleksandra Khakalo

Focus: Linguistics, Social Sciences, Geography
Profile


aleksandra.khakalo@copernicus.org
Phone +49 551 90 03 39 84
Arielle Maler

Arielle Maler

Focus: History, Statistics, Biogeochemistry
Profile


arielle.maler@copernicus.org
Phone +49 551 90 03 39 81+49 551 90 03 39 81
Ruth Ngobeni

Ruth Ngobeni

Focus: Linguistics, Natural Hazards,
Air and Soil Pollution
Profile


ruth.ngobeni@copernicus.org
Phone +49 551 90 03 39 92+49 551 90 03 39 92

Brian Phillips

Focus: Literature, Humanities, Social Sciences, 
Statistics
Profile


brian.phillips@copernicus.org
Phone +49 551 90 03 39 83+49 551 90 03 39 83
Luke Slager

Luke Slager

Focus: Linguistics, Literature, Social Sciences,
Humanities
Profile


luke.slager@copernicus.org
Phone +49 551 90 03 39 82+49 551 90 03 39 82
Meredith Gunnells
Copy-Editing
Please contact me:
Phone +49 551 90 03 39 80
meredith.gunnells@copernicus.org